Press Ganey Awards:
Recognizing Health Care's Best Organizations

It is Press Ganey’s honor to highlight the outstanding work of our clients who strive to improve the patient experience and raise the bar on performance each year. Press Ganey recognizes a select group of its clients with awards that recognize efforts to improve the quality and safety of patient care, to provide a positive and collaborative environment for employees and physicians, and ultimately to deliver exceptional patient experiences. Award winners are recognized in November at Press Ganey's National Client Conference.

Press Ganey recognizes winners of the following six Awards annually. Select one or scroll down to find out more:

ATTENTION: 2015 Press Ganey Award Criteria now available. A few updates were made to refine the requirements which will be used to identify the 2015 Press Ganey Award winners. Updates include clarification of minimum response for Patient Experience and Physician Engagement awards, and a new list of Clinical Quality measures. Read the 2015 Press Ganey Award Criteria and see what it takes to be recognized as a top performer.

The Physician of the Year Award

The Press Ganey Physician of the Year Award recognizes a physician who demonstrates exceptional leadership and who has realized tangible success improving the patient experience, reducing patient and caregiver suffering and who promotes compassionate connected care in their organization. One winner is selected annually and recognized at the Press Ganey National Client Conference.

The Nurse of the Year Award

The Press Ganey Nurse of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of an outstanding direct care nurse who has gone above and beyond in his/her role and demonstrated care innovation, transformation and collaboration that supports an exceptional patient experience. One winner is selected annually and recognized at the Press Ganey National Client Conference.

See the Nurse of the Year Award Criteria for more detailed information on the award and the application. 

The 2014 Nurse of the Year: Robin Alvarado from Adventist Hinsdale Hospital in Hinsdale, Illinois
Finalist: Pablo Hernandez of Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital in Flower Mound, Texas
Finalist: Lisa Walker of Mercy Health, Fairfield Hospital in Fairfield, Ohio

The Pinnacle of Excellence AwardSM (formerly Beacon of Excellence Award)

This award, presented under the name Beacon of Excellence prior to 2015, is given to the top three performing organizations by category on the basis of extraordinary achievement. The award recognizes clients who have maintained consistently high levels of excellence over three years in patient experience, employee engagement, physician engagement or clinical quality performance.

2014 Pinnacle of Excellence Award Recipients

The Success Story Award®

This award recognizes clients who have demonstrated innovation and leadership to measurably improve patient experience, clinical quality, physician or employee engagement. Recipients are selected from among the stories sent in response to our annual call for submissions.

2014 Success Story Award Recipients

The NDNQI Award® for Outstanding Nursing Quality

The NDNQI Award for Outstanding Nursing Quality honors nursing excellence and awards the best performing hospital in each of six categories. Analysis considers 17 quality measures to evaluate scores by unit type, develops a standardized score for each unit and combines scores across the units to produce an overall score. The highest-ranking hospital in each category receives the award.

2014 NDNQI Award Recipients

The Commitment to Excellence Award®

This award honors clients who have shown continuous improvement — comparing quarterly scores during a two-year period.

2014 Commitment to Excellence Award Recipients

Guardian of Excellence Award®

This award honors clients who have reached the 95th percentile for patient experience, employee or physician engagement, or clinical quality performance — awarded annually based on one year of data.

2014 Guardian of Excellence Award Recipients

For information on how the 2015 winners will be identified, please see the 2015 Press Ganey Award Criteria.


View all events >

View all tweets >

As an industry leader in analytics-based healthcare performance improvement, Press Ganey uses deep patient experience data to help healthcare organizations drive operational efficiency and increased patient satisfaction. Press Ganey utilizes proprietary surveys to capture the voice of the patient and provide meaningful and actionable insights into all aspects of the patient experience across the care continuum. The company's solutions help providers meet CAHPS requirements, improve value-based purchasing performance and deliver meaningful improvement to the patient experience. Press Ganey's team of expert patient satisfaction improvement advisors partners with organizations to drive success, working closely to implement best practices for patient experience, and employee and physician engagement. By working with organizations to focus on all of these aspects of the patient experience, Press Ganey can effectively help providers deliver on their mission to reduce patient suffering.